DAWN CHORUS

I lay in the half light,

Resting my head upon the pillow,

The cool breeze blowing on my face,

As the curtains billow,

Listening to the melody,

Of the dawn chorus,

The birds welcoming morning,

In a song so joyous,

While folk are waking up,

Ready for the day ahead,

I am drifting into sleep,

Curled up in my bed,

A night spent creeping,

Under the cover of the dark,

Waiting for inspiration,

Inside me to spark,

I love my nights of writing,

While the rest of the world dreams,

For it is then that meaning,

Flows from me in streams.

Leave a Reply

